top of page
Ibn Maja ( Beirut )

Ibn Maja ( Beirut )


Sunan Ibn Majah (سُنن ابن ماجه‎‎) is one of the six major Sunni hadith collections (Kutub al-Sittah). The Sunan was authored by Ibn Majah. It contains over 4,000 aḥādīth in 32 books (kutub) divided into 1,500 chapters (abwāb). About 20 of the traditions it contains were later declared to be forged; such as those dealing with the merits of individuals, tribes or towns, including Ibn Majah's home town of Qazwin. It is regarded as sixth in strength of the Six major Hadith collections. Nonetheless this position was not settled until the 14th century or later. Scholars such as al-Nawawi (d. 676/1277) and Ibn Khaldun (d. 808/1405) excluded the Sunan from the generally accepted books; others replaced it with either the Muwaṭṭaʾ of Imām Mālik or with the Sunan ad-Dārimī.


Some of the popular commentaries on the Sunnan Ibn Majah are:

--- al-I'lam bi Sunnatih ('Aleyhi as-Salam) by 'Ala'udeen Mughlatawi b. Qilaj 9d. 762),

--- Misbah al-Zujajjah fi Zawa'id ibn Majah by Imam al-Busairi (d. 840),

--- Misbah al-Zujajah 'ala Sunnan ibn Majah, by Imam al-Suyuti (d. 911),

--- Kifayat al-Hajat fi Sharh Ibn Majah, Abi al-Hassan b. 'Abd al-Hadi (d. 1136),

--- Raf' al-'Ijaja, by Mawlawiy Wahid al-Zaman (d. 1313),

--- Injahul Hajjah by 'Abd al-Ghaniy ad-Dahlawi (d. 1282),

--- Miftahul Hajjah by Muhammad b. Abdallah Lacknaw (d. 1315),

Related Products